I am looking for...

Going into 6th Grade Lists 2024


Printable List: Going Into 6th Grade 2024.PDF

Eb & Flow

Kelly J. Baptist

A ten-day suspension has tweens De'Kari and Ebony seeing the world with a fresh perspective. Don't miss this poignant novel in verse from the award-winning author of Isaiah Dunn Is My Hero. Two kids. One fight. No one thinks they’re wrong

Read More View in Catalog

Karthik Delivers

Sheela Chari

From the award-winning author of Finding Mighty, a moving middle-grade novel about finding your place by following your heart Karthik Raghavan is good at remembering things. Like his bike routes. Or all the reasons he likes Juhi Shah—even if she do

Read More View in Catalog

Max in the House of Spies

Adam Gidwitz

“Max in the House of Spies is everything you could hope for in a book,” -R. J. Palacio, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Wonder, White Bird, and Pony “Espionage! Secrets! Suspense! If you’ve ever dreamed of being a spy, this book is fo

Read More View in Catalog

The Demon Sword Asperides

Sarah Jean Horwitz

A scheming demon sword and a wannabe knight band together on a (possibly wicked) quest in this fantasy, perfect for fans of Diana Wynne Jones and Terry Pratchett. For the past two hundred years, the demon sword Asperides has led a quiet life. While h

Read More View in Catalog

Courtesy of Cupid

Nashae Jones

In this middle grade rom-com sprinkled with a dash of magic, a girl uses her newfound ability to make people fall in love to sabotage her rival. Erin Johnson’s thirteenth birthday unfolds like any other day, from her mom’s quirky and embarrassing

Read More View in Catalog

Catch Me If I Fall

Barry Jonsberg

Twins Ashleigh and Aiden have always promised to protect each other, but after an accident on a school trip, Aiden starts behaving strangely. Are they just growing apart, or is something more sinister going on? In a future Australia ravaged by climat

Read More View in Catalog

Jennifer Chan Is Not Alone

Tae Keller

In her first novel since winning the Newbery Medal for When You Trap a Tiger, Tae Keller offers a gripping and emotional story about friendship, bullying, and the possiblity that there's more in the universe than just us. Sometimes middle school

Read More View in Catalog

Slugfest

Gordon Korman

From Gordon Korman, the New York Times bestselling author of Restart, comes a hilarious new story about a group of underdogs who come together when they are forced to attend summer school—for failing PE. Yash is the best athlete at Robinette Middle

Read More View in Catalog

Farther Than the Moon

Lindsay Lackey

From award-winning author Lindsay Lackey comes Farther Than the Moon, a heartfelt story about a boy who wants to become an astronaut, but wonders if his dreams can include his brother with disabilities, perfect for fans of We Dream of Space and Song

Read More View in Catalog

Mirror to Mirror

Rajani LaRocca

Rajani LaRocca, recipient of a Newbery Honor and Walter Award for Red, White, and Whole, is back with an evocative novel in verse about identical twin sisters who do everything together—until external pressures threaten to break them apart. Maya is

Read More View in Catalog

Extra Normal

Kate Alice Marshall

It's hard to fight the supernatural when you're naturally "un-super." This chilling middle grade is perfect for fans of Stranger Things and Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark…even if they don't have any special powers. Charl

Read More View in Catalog

Forever Twelve

Stacy McAnulty

What if you were twelve for all of eternity? From the award-winning author of The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl comes a magical mystery about a group of kids who have been alive for hundreds of years. At the elite West Archer Academy, all the stu

Read More View in Catalog

Don't Want to Be Your Monster

Deke Moulton

A 2024 Sydney Taylor Honor Book! Two vampire brothers must set aside their differences to solve a series of murders in this humorous and delightfully spooky novel for young readers. For fans of Too Bright to See. Adam and Victor are brothers who have

Read More View in Catalog

Lasagna Means I Love You

Kate O'Shaughnessy

What are the essential ingredients that make a family? Eleven-year-old Mo is making up her own recipe in this unforgettable story that's a little sweet, a little sour, and totally delicious. Nan was all the family Mo ever needed. But suddenly sh

Read More View in Catalog

The Rhythm of Time

Questlove, S. A. Cosby

An Instant New York Times Bestseller From the Academy Award–winning, Grammy-winning, and New York Times bestselling author Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson and the New York Times bestselling author S. A. Cosby comes this thrill-a-minute novel—the f

Read More View in Catalog

Not the Worst Friend in the World

Anne Rellihan

Can Lou Bennett keep a secret? She’ll do just about anything to prove herself to her new friend—and the best friend she betrayed—in this debut novel that is a modern-day Harriet the Spy with high emotional stakes. It’s the thirty-fourth day o

Read More View in Catalog

The Fairfleet Affair

K. H. Saxton

Follow clues, solve puzzles, crack the code… find the missing millionaire. The celebrated museums of the Fairfleet Institute are known for curating the mysteries of humanity. But they don’t solve mysteries. Luckily, twelve-year-old friends Alex F

Read More View in Catalog

Sir Callie and the Champions of Helston

Esme Symes-Smith

In a magical medieval world filled with dragons, shape-shifters, and witches, a twelve-year-old nonbinary hopeful knight battles for the heart of their kingdom. A thrilling middle-grade series opener that explores identity and gender amid sword fight

Read More View in Catalog

Nic Blake and the Remarkables: The Manifestor Prophecy

Angie Thomas

Internationally bestselling superstar author Angie Thomas makes her middle grade debut with the launch of an inventive, hilarious, and suspenseful new contemporary fantasy trilogy inspired by African American history and folklore. It’s not easy bei

Read More View in Catalog

Remember Us

Jacqueline Woodson

National Book Award winner Jacqueline Woodson brings readers a powerful story that delves deeply into life’s burning questions about time and memory and what we take with us into the future. It seems like Sage’s whole world is on fire the summer

Read More View in Catalog

Eerie Tales from the School of Screams

Graham Annable

From the director of the Oscar-nominated movie Boxtrolls comes a middle grade horror anthology that will leave you holding onto your blankets for dear life! Perfect for fans of Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark and Goosebumps! School is tough. School

Read More View in Catalog

Mexikid: A Graphic Memoir

Pedro Martin

Pedro Martin has grown up hearing stories about his abuelito-his legendary crime-fighting, grandfather who was once a part of the Mexican Revolution! But that doesn't mean Pedro is excited at the news that Abuelito is coming to live with their f

Read More View in Catalog

Parachute Kids: A Graphic Novel

Betty C. Tang

**National Book Award Longlist Title** **Asian/Pacific American Award Honor Book** This funny, fast-paced, and heartrending story about three siblings living on their own as undocumented new immigrants is perfect for fans of New Kid and Front Desk. A

Read More View in Catalog

Alterations: a graphic novel

Ray Xu

For fans of Gene Luen Yang’s American Born Chinese and Svetlana Chmakova’s Awkward, this funny yet poignant middle-grade coming-of-age story highlights the struggle of feeling invisible while yearning to be seen by all. Kevin Lee is having a real

Read More View in Catalog

Troublemakers in trousers: women and what they wore to get things done

Sarah Albee

Meet twenty-one women throughout history who broke fashion and norms to do something groundbreaking in this unique middle-grade collection that celebrates trailblazers and troublemakers. Girls and women have historically been denied access to work, b

Read More View in Catalog

Chinese menu: the history, myths, and legends behind your favorite foods

Grace Lin

The perfect gift book for Lunar New Year for anyone who loves good food—and an even better story! Newbery and Caldecott honoree and New York Times bestselling author Grace Lin delivers a groundbreaking, lushly illustrated, and beautifully written f

Read More View in Catalog

Where Are the Aliens?

Stacy McAnulty

A fun-filled, highly illustrated, science-based exploration into one of the universe’s greatest mysteries—does life exist beyond Earth?—from bestselling and award-winning author Stacy McAnulty. Spoiler: Scientists haven’t discovered life beyo

Read More View in Catalog

Seen and Unseen

Elizabeth Partridge

Winner of the Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal Winner of the BolognaRagazzi Award for Photography Named a Best Book of the Year by Booklist, Kirkus Reviews, School Library Journal, New York Public Library, Chicago Public Library, and others.

Read More View in Catalog

Goddess: 50 goddesses, spirits, saints and other female figures who have shaped belief

Janina Ramirez

This empowering collection brings together 50 Goddess' from Nut, the Ancient Egyptian Goddess of the Sky to Medusa to Papatuanuku the Maori Earth Goddess.

View in Catalog

Need even more books to read? Check the shelves for this author we love!

Middle School Lists 2024


Coming Soon!

High School Lists 2024


Coming Soon!

See Previous Tween/Teen Summer Reading Lists


2023 Tween & Teen Summer Reading

2022 Tween & Teen Summer Reading

2021 Tween & Teen Summer Reading

2020 Tween & Teen Summer Reading

2019 Tween & Teen Summer Reading

2018 Tween & Teen Summer Reading