I am looking for...

Going into 6th Grade Lists 2018


Printable List: Going Into 6th Grade 2018.PDF

Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow

Jessica Townsend

A breathtaking, enchanting new series by debut author Jessica Townsend, about a cursed girl who escapes death and finds herself in a magical world–but is then tested beyond her wildest imagination. Morrigan Crow is cursed. Having been born on Eventi

Read More View in Catalog

The Goldfish Boy

Lisa Thompson

In this riveting debut, a boy struggling with OCD is uniquely qualified to solve a kidnapping. Lisa Thompson's debut novel is a page-turning mystery with an emotionally-driven, complex character study at its core — like Rear Window meets The Cu

Read More View in Catalog

Marvel Black Panther: The Young Prince

Ronald L. Smith

To stop an ancient evil, a young T'Challa must take on the mantle of hero, setting him on the path to becoming the Black Panther.

View in Catalog

Silo and the Rebel Raiders

Veronica Peyton

Ten-year-old Silo Zyco hasn’t had the easiest start to life. His father was (probably) ‘Aquinus the Accursed’ – wanted for dog-theft, whereabouts unknown. His relatives all perished in a disaster involving a terrible wave and lots of mud. All h

Read More View in Catalog

The First Rule of Punk

Celia C. Pérez

A 2018 Pura Belpré Author Honor Book The First Rule of Punk is a wry and heartfelt exploration of friendship, finding your place, and learning to rock out like no one’s watching. There are no shortcuts to surviving your first day at a new school

Read More View in Catalog

Gabby Garcia's Ultimate Playbook

Iva-Marie Palmer

Dear fans of Dork Diaries and Middle School: The Worst Years of My Life—meet your new favorite kid-next-door hero! Gabby Garcia an overly confident baseball-obsessed sport nut who’s going to win your heart. If life were a baseball game, all-star

Read More View in Catalog

Have Sword, Will Travel

Garth Nix, Sean Williams

In this “fast-paced, tongue-in-cheek adventure” from New York Times–bestselling authors, best friends journey with a magical sword to save their kingdom (Publishers Weekly). It is strange enough that Odo and Eleanor have stumbled upon a sword i

Read More View in Catalog

Elizabeth and Zenobia

Jessica Miller

Abandoned by her mother and neglected by her scientist father, timid Elizabeth Murmur has only her fearless friend, Zenobia, for company. And Zenobia’s company can be very trying! When Elizabeth’s father takes them to live in his family home, Wit

Read More View in Catalog

Roll

Darcy Miller

Winner of the 2018 Burr/Worzalla Award * A CCBC (Cooperative Children’s Book Center) Choices 2018 Pick * A Bank Street Best Children's Book of 2017 A hilariously funny and poignant debut novel, perfect for fans of Jerry Spinelli, Kat Yeh, Gary

Read More View in Catalog

This Would Make a Good Story Someday

Dana Alison Levy

From the author of The Misadventures of the Family Fletcher comes an epic cross-country train trip for fans of Dan Santat’s Are We There Yet? and Geoff Rodkey’s The Tapper Twins. Pack your suitcase and climb on board with the Johnston-Fischer fam

Read More View in Catalog

The Van Gogh Deception

Deron R. Hicks

Dan Brown meets Jason Bourne in this riveting middle-grade mystery thriller. When a young boy is discovered in Washington DC’s National Gallery without any recollection of who he is, so begins a high-stakes race to unravel the greatest mystery of a

Read More View in Catalog

Macy McMillan and the Rainbow Goddess

Shari Green

Winner of the 2018 ALA Schneider Family Middle School Books Award. Sixth grade is coming to an end, and so is life as Macy McMillan knows it. Already a "For Sale" sign mars the front lawn of her beloved house. Soon her mother will upend the

Read More View in Catalog

Armstrong and Charlie

Steven B. Frank

During the pilot year of a Los Angeles school system integration program, Armstrong and Charlie learn to cope with everything from first crushes and playground politics to the loss of loved ones and racial prejudice in the 1970s. Charlie isn’t look

Read More View in Catalog

The Pants Project

Cat Clarke

Okay, here goes. My name is Liv (not Olivia). I'm not technically a girl. I'm transgender. Which is a bit like being a Transformer, only not quite as cool because I probably won't get to save the world one day. Liv knows he was always

Read More View in Catalog

5 Worlds Book 1: The Sand Warrior

Mark Siegel, Alexis Siegel

R. J. Palacio, #1 New York Times bestselling author of WONDER, hails this adventure series as “Mind-blowingly beautiful. . . . A must-read.” Think Star Wars meets Avatar: The Last Airbender! The Five Worlds are on the brink of extinction unless f

Read More View in Catalog

The Witch Boy: A Graphic Novel (The Witch Boy Trilogy #1)

Molly Knox Ostertag

From the illustrator of the web comic Strong Female Protagonist comes a debut middle-grade graphic novel about family, identity, courage — and magic. In thirteen-year-old Aster's family, all the girls are raised to be witches, while boys grow u

Read More View in Catalog

One Trick Pony

Nathan Hale

The aliens have arrived. And they’re hungry for electricity. In the Earth of the future, humans are on the run from an alien force—giant blobs who suck up electrical devices wherever they can find them. Strata and her family are part of a caravan

Read More View in Catalog

The Magician and the Spirits

Deborah Noyes

“Noyes makes history accessible and irresistible . . . Excellent.”* A century ago, the curious idea that spirits not only survive death but can be contacted on the “other side” was widespread. Psychic mediums led countless séances, claiming

Read More View in Catalog

MasterChef Junior Cookbook

MasterChef Junior

Creativity, hard work, and lots of fun—that’s what it takes to cook like a master. Beloved television competition show MasterChef Junior fosters all of this within each of its pint-size home cooks, and what they whip up is truly impressive. This

Read More View in Catalog

Super Women

Laurie Lawlor

Break through the glass ceiling with six incredible women whose scientific research changed the world. Katherine Coleman Johnson. Eugenie Clark. Marie Tharp. Gertrude Elion. Florence Hawley Ellis. Eleanor Margaret Burbidge. Acclaimed author Laurie La

Read More View in Catalog

Traveling the Blue Road

Lee Bennett Hopkins, Denver Butson, Rebecca Kai Dotlich, Margarita Engle, Georgia Heard, Paul B. Janeczko, J. Patrick Lewis, Marilyn Nelson, Greg Neri, Naomi Shihab Nye, Allan Wolf, Jane Yolen

Gorgeous illustrations surround a collection of poetry written for children about the magic, beauty, and promise of sea voyages.

View in Catalog

This Book Stinks!

Sarah Wassner Flynn

"Get up close and personal with our world of waste! From the ins and outs of recycling, to the nitty-gritty of landfills and dumps, to how creative people find new ways to reuse rubbish, this book is everything you ever wanted to know–and every

Read More View in Catalog

Norse Myths

Kevin Crossley-Holland

"Discover Norse mythology through the enthralling exploits of all-powerful Odin, mighty Thor, and the trickster Loki."–Front jacket flap.

View in Catalog

Don't Read This Book Before Bed

Anna Claybourne

Presents true stories about real-life monsters, doomed domains, and strange disappearances, many attributed to ghosts and other supernatural encounters.

View in Catalog

Need even more books to read? Check the shelves for this author whom we love!