I am looking for...

Going into 6th Grade Lists 2020


Printable List: Going Into 6th Grade 2020.PDF

Shadow School #1: Archimancy

J. A. White

From the acclaimed author of Nightbooks and The Thickety comes a spooky series, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Adam Gidwitz, and Stranger Things! Cordelia Liu knew Shadow School was going to be different. Still, she didn't expect the school gr

Read More View in Catalog

The Bridge Home

Padma Venkatraman

"Readers will be captivated by this beautifully written novel about young people who must use their instincts and grit to survive. Padma infuses her story with hope and bravery that will inspire readers."–Aisha Saeed, author of the New Yor

Read More View in Catalog

Strange Birds

Celia C. Pérez

How do strangers become friends? Ofelia Castillo is searching for a story. While her friends leave their boring Florida town for summer camps and family vacations, she braces for zero excitement. Lane Disanti would like her whole family to kick rocks

Read More View in Catalog

Last of the Name

Rosanne Parry

Twelve-year-old Danny O'Carolan and his sister, Kathleen, arrive in New York City in 1863. Kathleen refuses to be parted from her only remaining relative, so she finds a job in domestic service for herself and her younger…sister. Danny relucta

Read More View in Catalog

Chirp

Kate Messner

"[A] deftly layered mystery about family, friendship, and the struggle to speak up." – Laurie Halse Anderson, bestselling author of Speak and Shout From acclaimed author Kate Messner comes the powerful story of a young girl with the courage

Read More View in Catalog

Jinxed

Amy McCulloch

The Golden Compass meets the digital age! When a coding star enters an elite technology academy, she discovers a world of competition, intrigue, and family secrets—plus a robotic companion that isn't what it seems. Lacey Chu is a girl who code

Read More View in Catalog

The Flooded Earth

Mardi McConnochie

Forty years after a devastating flood changed the face of the earth, new consequences and challenges are still surfacing. Twins Will and Annalie thought the hardest part about this year was going to be their separation when bookish Annalie began life

Read More View in Catalog

From the Desk of Zoe Washington

Janae Marks

#1 Kids Indie Next List * Parents Magazine Best Book of the Year * Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Book of the Year * SLJ Best Book of the Year * Kirkus Best Book of the Year * Junior Library Guild Selection * Edgar Award Nominee * Four Starr

Read More View in Catalog

Emmy in the Key of Code

Aimee Lucido

Sixth-grader Emmy tries to find her place in a new school and to figure out how she can create her own kind of music using a computer.

View in Catalog

The Year We Fell from Space

Amy Sarig King

The new middle-grade novel from the acclaimed YA author known as A.S. King, The Year We Fell from Space is a delightfully moving story of twelve-year-old budding astronomer Liberty as she makes sense of her life through the stars.

View in Catalog

The Mystwick School of Musicraft

Jessica Khoury

Twelve-year-old Amelia gets the opportunity to attend a boarding school and learn how to use music to create magic, hoping to become a Maestro like her deceased mother.

View in Catalog

When You Trap a Tiger

Tae Keller

A hopeful, heartwarming story of a girl discovering her family's past and present when she makes a deal with a magical tiger from her grandmother's stories, the Korean version of "Once upon a time . . ." Some stories refuse to sta

Read More View in Catalog

Remarkables

Margaret Peterson Haddix

New York Times bestselling author Margaret Peterson Haddix, the master of cliffhangers, delivers a pulse-pounding mystery perfect for fans of Jacqueline West and Kat Yeh, full of secrets, surprises, and the power of family. Now available in paperback

Read More View in Catalog

The Class

Frances O'Roark Dowell

“A complex, thought-provoking, and entertaining view of middle school.” —Publishers Weekly Twenty kids. Twenty points of view. One rambunctious, brilliantly conceived novel that corrals the seeming chaos (c’mon, TWENTY points of view!) into o

Read More View in Catalog

Each Tiny Spark

Pablo Cartaya

Sixth-grader Emilia Torres struggles with ADHD, her controlling abuela, her mother's work commitments, her father's distance after returning from deployment, evolving friendships, and a conflict over school redistricting.

View in Catalog

The Unexpected Life of Oliver Cromwell Pitts

Avi

High adventure from a master storyteller about one boy’s attempt to fend for himself among cruel orphan masters, corrupt magistrates, and conniving thieves. In the seaside town of Melcombe Regis, England, 1724, Oliver Cromwell Pitts wakes to find h

Read More View in Catalog

Stargazing

Jen Wang

Stargazing is a heartwarming middle-grade graphic novel in the spirit of Real Friends and El Deafo, from New York Times bestselling author-illustrator Jen Wang. Moon is everything Christine isn't. She’s confident, impulsive, artistic . . . and

Read More View in Catalog

Dugout: The Zombie Steals Home: A Graphic Novel

Scott Morse

Twins Stacy and Gina Cavallaro are on rival little league teams, and when Gina accidentally unleashes a curse that wakes the dead, Stacy's misfit team gets coached by a baseball-playing zombie! A Junior Library Guild Selection Twins Stacy and Gi

Read More View in Catalog

Black Canary: Ignite

Meg Cabot

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Princess Diariescomes Black Canary: Ignite, Meg Cabot's first graphic novel! With expressive and energetic art by Cara McGee to match the trademark attitude and spunk of Meg Cabot's chara

Read More View in Catalog

Your Amazing Digestion from Mouth through Intestine

Joanne Settel

Dr. Joanne Settel has all the answers to our most burning questions in this wacky and informative book of poems about our digestive systems. Have you ever wondered… Why spicy foods can make you sweat? Why garlic makes your breath so stinky? Just ho

Read More View in Catalog

Rotten!

Anita Sanchez

A funny and fact-filled look at decomposition in all of its slimy glory, illustrated with dazzling full-color art by Gilbert Ford. Vultures, fungi, dung beetles, and more aid in this fascinating and sometimes smelly aspect of the life cycle that&#039

Read More View in Catalog

Turn It Up!

National Geographic Kids

From classical to country, blues to rock, hip-hop to pop, crank up the volume and get ready to rock out with a comprehensive record of music through the ages. The high notes and biggest moments in music history are covered in this fun compendium. You

Read More View in Catalog

Dictionary for a Better World

Irene Latham, Charles Waters

"Organized as a dictionary, entries in this book for middle-grade readers present words related to creating a better, more inclusive world. Each word is explored via a poem, a quote from an inspiring person, and a short personal anecdote from on

Read More View in Catalog

United Tastes of America

Gabrielle Langholtz

Cook around the country with this geographical collection of authentic recipes from each of the USA's 50 states, plus three territories, and the nation's capital Following the success of America: The Cookbook, author (and mother) Gabrielle

Read More View in Catalog

Mummies Exposed!

Kerrie Logan Hollihan

Just when you think that you know everything there is to know about mummies, new ones are discovered! Packed with facts but light in tone, this book introduces young readers to the most compelling examples of mummies from all over the world. There ar

Read More View in Catalog

Fearless Felines

Kimberlie Hamilton

From World War II London to outer space, meet the coolest cats in history in a colorful illustrated compendium of famous felines and cat facts. Drawing from the thrilling lives of more than 30 adorable cats throughout history, Kimberlie Hamilton rete

Read More View in Catalog

Overview

Benjamin Grant, Sandra Markle

A collection of satellite images of Earth.

View in Catalog

The Book of Queens

Stephanie Warren Drimmer

Empire builders, legendary leaders, revolutionary rebels, powerful pioneers, and more … discover more than 100 wonder women who prove that girls totally rule. They're queens wielding scepters and sitting on thrones, they're revolutionarie

Read More View in Catalog

The Complete Baking Book for Young Chefs

America's Test Kitchen Kids

A New York Times Bestseller! From the creators of the #1 New York Times bestselling cookbook for kids comes the ultimate baking book. America's Test Kitchen once again brings their scientific know-how, rigorous testing, and hands-on learning to

Read More View in Catalog