I am looking for...

Going into 6th Grade Lists 2020


Printable List: Going Into 6th Grade 2020.PDF

Shadow School #1: Archimancy

J. A. White

From the acclaimed author of Nightbooks and The Thickety comes a spooky series, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Adam Gidwitz, and Stranger Things! Cordelia Liu knew Shadow School was going to be different. Still, she didn’t expect the school groun

Read More View in Catalog

The Bridge Home

Padma Venkatraman

"Readers will be captivated by this beautifully written novel about young people who must use their instincts and grit to survive. Padma infuses her story with hope and bravery that will inspire readers."–Aisha Saeed, author of the New Yor

Read More View in Catalog

Strange Birds

Celia C. Pérez

From the award-winning author of The First Rule of Punk comes the story of four kids who form an alternative Scout troop that shakes up their sleepy Florida town. * "Writing with wry restraint that's reminiscent of Kate DiCamillo… a beaut

Read More View in Catalog

Last of the Name

Rosanne Parry

Twelve-year-old Danny O'Carolan and his sister, Kathleen, arrive in New York City in 1863, at the height of the Civil War. Kathleen finds a job in domestic service for herself and Danny, hoping to keep Danny from being drafted into the US Army a

Read More View in Catalog

Chirp

Kate Messner

"[A] deftly layered mystery about family, friendship, and the struggle to speak up." – Laurie Halse Anderson, bestselling author of Speak and Shout From acclaimed author Kate Messner comes the powerful story of a young girl with the courage

Read More View in Catalog

Jinxed

Amy McCulloch

The Golden Compass meets the digital age! When a coding star enters an elite technology academy, she discovers a world of competition, intrigue, and family secrets—plus a robotic companion that isn't what it seems. Lacey Chu is a girl who code

Read More View in Catalog

The Flooded Earth

Mardi McConnochie

Forty years after a devastating flood changed the face of the earth, new consequences and challenges are still surfacing. Twins Will and Annalie thought the hardest part about this year was going to be their separation when bookish Annalie began life

Read More View in Catalog

From the Desk of Zoe Washington

Janae Marks

#1 Kids Indie Next List * Parents Magazine Best Book of the Year * Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Book of the Year * SLJ Best Book of the Year * Kirkus Best Book of the Year * Junior Library Guild Selection * Edgar Award Nominee * Four Starr

Read More View in Catalog

Emmy in the Key of Code

Aimee Lucido

Sixth-grader Emmy tries to find her place in a new school and to figure out how she can create her own kind of music using a computer.

View in Catalog

The Year We Fell From Space (Scholastic Gold)

Amy Sarig King

The deeply affecting next book from acclaimed author Amy Sarig King. Liberty Johansen is going to change the way we look at the night sky. Most people see the old constellations, the things they've been told to see. But Liberty sees new patterns

Read More View in Catalog

The Mystwick School of Musicraft

Jessica Khoury

Twelve-year-old Amelia gets the opportunity to attend a boarding school and learn how to use music to create magic, hoping to become a Maestro like her deceased mother.

View in Catalog

When You Trap a Tiger

Tae Keller

WINNER OF THE NEWBERY MEDAL • WINNER OF THE ASIAN/PACIFIC AMERICAN AWARD FOR CHILDREN'S LITERATURE • #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER Would you make a deal with a magical tiger? This uplifting story brings Korean folklore to life as a girl goes

Read More View in Catalog

Remarkables

Margaret Peterson Haddix

New York Times bestselling author Margaret Peterson Haddix, the master of cliffhangers, delivers a pulse-pounding mystery perfect for fans of Jacqueline West and Kat Yeh, full of secrets, surprises, and the power of family. One minute they’re there

Read More View in Catalog

The Class

Frances O'Roark Dowell

“A complex, thought-provoking, and entertaining view of middle school.” —Publishers Weekly Twenty kids. Twenty points of view. One rambunctious, brilliantly conceived novel that corrals the seeming chaos (c’mon, TWENTY points of view!) into o

Read More View in Catalog

Each Tiny Spark

Pablo Cartaya

From award-winning author Pablo Cartaya comes a deeply moving middle grade novel about a daughter and father finding their way back to each other in the face of their changing family and community. A SCHNEIDER FAMILY BOOK AWARD HONOR FOR MIDDLE GRADE

Read More View in Catalog

The Unexpected Life of Oliver Cromwell Pitts

Avi

High adventure from a master storyteller about one boy’s attempt to fend for himself among cruel orphan masters, corrupt magistrates, and conniving thieves. In the seaside town of Melcombe Regis, England, 1724, Oliver Cromwell Pitts wakes to find h

Read More View in Catalog

Stargazing

Jen Wang

Stargazing is a heartwarming middle-grade graphic novel in the spirit of Real Friends and El Deafo, from New York Times bestselling author-illustrator Jen Wang. Moon is everything Christine isn't. She’s confident, impulsive, artistic . . . and

Read More View in Catalog

Dugout: The Zombie Steals Home: A Graphic Novel

Scott Morse

Twins Stacy and Gina are on rival little league teams, and when Gina accidentally unleashes a curse that wakes the dead, Stacy's misfit team gets coached by a baseball-playing zombie! A Junior Library Guild Selection Stacy and Gina Cavallaro are

Read More View in Catalog

Black Canary

Meg Cabot

This mother-daughter story embraces the highs and lows of growing up without growing out of what makes us unique. It's an inspirational song that encourages readers to find their own special voices to sing along with Black Canary. Kirkus writes,

Read More View in Catalog

Your Amazing Digestion from Mouth through Intestine

Joanne Settel

Dr. Joanne Settel has all the answers to our most burning questions in this wacky and informative book of poems about our digestive systems. Have you ever wondered… Why spicy foods can make you sweat? Why garlic makes your breath so stinky? Just ho

Read More View in Catalog

Rotten!

Anita Sanchez

Describes the process of decomposition, discussing the role of decomposers such as sharks, vultures, and earthworms, and includes experiments demonstrating how decomposition supports new life.

View in Catalog

Turn It Up!

National Geographic Kids

Presents a history of music, covering the most famous musicians, major music genres, instruments and sounds, and the artistry of distinctive musical styles.

View in Catalog

Dictionary for a Better World

Irene Latham, Charles Waters

How can we make the world a better place? This inspiring resource for middle-grade readers is organized as a dictionary; each entry presents a word related to creating a better world, such as ally, empathy, or respect. For each word, there is a poem,

Read More View in Catalog

United Tastes of America

Gabrielle Langholtz

Cook around the country with this geographical collection of authentic recipes from each of the USA's 50 states, plus three territories, and the nation's capital Following the success of America: The Cookbook, author (and mother) Gabrielle

Read More View in Catalog

Mummies Exposed!

Kerrie Logan Hollihan

Just when you think that you know everything there is to know about mummies, new ones are discovered! Packed with facts but light in tone, this book introduces young readers to the most compelling examples of mummies from all over the world. There ar

Read More View in Catalog

Fearless Felines: 30 True Tales of Courageous Cats

Kimberlie Hamilton

Recounts the lives of thirty cats across the world and throughout the centuries, who became the heroes of their own stories, while providing cat themed quizzes and facts.

View in Catalog

Overview, Young Explorer's Edition

Benjamin Grant, Sandra Markle

Discover Earth as you've never seen it before, in this stunning and unique collection of satellite images that offer an unexpected look at our planet. A perfect gift for young National Geographic fans and atlas enthusiasts! When astronauts look

Read More View in Catalog

The Book of Queens

Stephanie Drimmer

"They're queens wielding scepters and sitting on thrones, they're revolutionaries on the front lines, they're presidents and prime ministers leading their nations, or they're CEOs, scientists, sports stars, artists, and other

Read More View in Catalog

The Complete Baking Book for Young Chefs

America's Test Kitchen Kids

A New York Times Bestseller! From the creators of the #1 New York Times bestselling cookbook for kids comes the ultimate baking book. America's Test Kitchen once again brings their scientific know-how, rigorous testing, and hands-on learning to

Read More View in Catalog

Need even more books to read? Check the shelves for this series we love!