I am looking for...

Going into 6th Grade Lists 2022


Printable List: Going Into 6th Grade 2022.PDF

The Last Shadow Warrior

Sam Subity

Percy Jackson meets Thor in a laugh-out-loud, action-packed adventure inspired by Norse mythology. Twelve-year-old Abby Beckett is proud to come from a long line of elite Viking warriors known as the Aesir. She's spent her entire life training t

Read More View in Catalog

The Chance to Fly

Ali Stroker, Stacy Davidowitz

A heartfelt middle-grade novel about a theater-loving girl who uses a wheelchair for mobility and her quest to defy expectations—and gravity—from Tony award–winning actress Ali Stroker and Stacy Davidowitz Thirteen-year-old Nat Beacon loves a l

Read More View in Catalog

The Hideaway

Pam Smy

‘The Hideaway by Pam Smy is a work of art. Smy is the genius writer and illustrator of the stunning Thornhill. Smy takes children’s books to another level. Highly recommend.’ – David Walliams The wonderful long-awaited second novel from Pam Smy

Read More View in Catalog

Jadie in Five Dimensions

Dianne K. Salerni

A thirteen-year-old girl seeks answers about her past in the fourth dimension—and beyond—in this think-outside-the-box adventure. What do you do when it turns out your whole life has been a lie? Jadie Martin was always told she was abandoned by h

Read More View in Catalog

Everywhere Blue

Joanne Rossmassler Fritz

A brother's disappearance turns one family upside down, revealing painful secrets that threaten the life they've always known. When twelve-year-old Maddie's older brother vanishes from his college campus, her carefully ordered world fa

Read More View in Catalog

Cece Rios and the Desert of Souls

Kaela Rivera

When a powerful desert spirit kidnaps her sister, Cece Rios must learn forbidden magic to get her back, in this own voices middle grade fantasy perfect for fans of The Storm Runner and Aru Shah and the End of Time. Living in the remote town of Tierra

Read More View in Catalog

How to Train Your Dad

Gary Paulsen

From Gary Paulsen, the award-winning author of Hatchet, comes a laugh-out-loud eco-adventure about a boy, his free-thinking dad and the puppy-training pamphlet that turns their summer upside down. Twelve-year-old Carl is fed up with his dad; he may b

Read More View in Catalog

Finding Junie Kim

Ellen Oh

For fans of Inside Out and Back Again and Amina’s Voice comes a breathtaking story of family, hope, and survival from Ellen Oh, cofounder of We Need Diverse Books. When Junie Kim is faced with middle school racism, she learns of her grandparents’

Read More View in Catalog

A Bird Will Soar

Alison Green Myers

WINNER OF THE SCHNEIDER FAMILY BOOK AWARD A heartfelt and hopeful debut about a bird-loving autistic child whose family's special nest is in danger of falling apart. Axel loves everything about birds, especially eagles. No one worries that an ea

Read More View in Catalog

Hush-a-Bye

Jody Lee Mott

* "Mott’s deft prose and well-written characters will keep readers engaged from start to frightening finish. This is the perfect read for people who love the chill of terror running down their backs." —School Library Journal (starred re

Read More View in Catalog

The Swallows' Flight

Hilary McKay

"Originally published in Great Britain in 2021 by Pan Macmillan."

View in Catalog

Concealed

Christina Diaz Gonzalez

The 2022 Edgar Award Winner for Best Juvenline Mystery! What if you had no name, no past, and no home? Ivette. Joanna. And now: Katrina Whatever her name is, it won’t last long. Katrina doesn’t know any of the details about her past, but she does

Read More View in Catalog

Yusuf Azeem Is Not a Hero

Saadia Faruqi

At a time when we are all asking questions about identity, grief, and how to stand up for what is right, this book by the author of A Thousand Questions will hit home with young readers who love Hena Khan and Varian Johnson—or anyone struggling to

Read More View in Catalog

Barefoot Dreams of Petra Luna

Alda P. Dobbs

2022 Pura Belpré Honor Book NYPL Best Book of 2021 Texas Bluebonnet Master List Selection NPR Best Book of 2021 Based on a true story, the tale of one girl's perilous journey to cross the U.S. border and lead her family to safety during the Mex

Read More View in Catalog

The Threads of Magic

Alison Croggon

In a gripping stand-alone fantasy from the acclaimed Alison Croggon, a pickpocket steals the cursed Stone Heart and is propelled into a power struggle, woven with witchcraft, that will change the kingdom forever. Pip lives by his wits in the city of

Read More View in Catalog

Worst-Case Collin

Rebecca Caprara

This poignant middle grade novel in verse follows twelve-year-old Collin who manages his anxiety by mapping out survival plans for any disaster or worst-case scenario. Collin is always prepared for something to go wrong. Ever since he lost his mom in

Read More View in Catalog

Miosotis Flores Never Forgets

Hilda Eunice Burgos

"When Miosotis Flores discovers that her sister Amarilis's fiancé is physically abusive to her, she must decide how to help, while also caring for a rescue dog and pursuing better grades in school"–

View in Catalog

The Robber Girl

Franny Billingsley

"The Robber Girl has a good dagger. Its voice in her head is as sharp as its two edges that taper down to a point. Today, the Robber Girl and her dagger will ride with Gentleman Jack into the Indigo Heart to claim the gold that's rightfully

Read More View in Catalog

Tidesong

Wendy Xu

Perfect for fans of Studio Ghibli and The Tea Dragon Society, this is a magically heartwarming graphic novel about self-acceptance and friendship. Sophie is a young witch whose mother and grandmother pressure her to attend the Royal Magic Academy—t

Read More View in Catalog

The Accursed Vampire

Madeline McGrane

*Named a Rainbow Book List Title* A spooky and funny graphic novel perfect for fans of The Witch Boy and Real Friends Dragoslava is a vampire kid. It has its perks, but sometimes being stuck as a kid forever can be a pain in the neck. And that’s no

Read More View in Catalog

Long Distance

Whitney Gardner

From the creator of Fake Blood comes another exceptionally charming middle grade graphic novel about friendships both near and far, far away. Vega’s summer vacation is not going well. When her parents decide it’s time to pack up and leave her hom

Read More View in Catalog

Living with Viola

Rosena Fung

Heartbreakingly honest and quietly funny, this graphic novel from a debut creator is a refreshingly real exploration of mental health, cultural differences, and the trials of middle school. Livy is already having trouble fitting in as the new girl at

Read More View in Catalog

There's No Ham in Hamburgers

Kim Zachman

From hot dogs and hamburgers to ice cream and pizza, this fascinating book is full of fun facts and stories of the origins of some of America's most popular foods. Why is there no ham in hamburgers? How did we make ice cream before we could make

Read More View in Catalog

Inside in: X-rays of nature's hidden world

Jan Paul Schutten

A perfect book for STEM learning: Kids ages 8-12 will love these creepy X-Rays of bugs, reptiles, mammals, and more! A Smithsonian Magazine Best Children’s Book of the Year Using incredible X-ray techniques, Inside In displays creatures and their n

Read More View in Catalog

Crazy Horse and Custer

S. D. Nelson

With photographs and stunning illustrations from acclaimed author-artist S.D. Nelson, this thrilling double biography juxtaposes the lives of two enemies whose conflict changed American history: Crazy Horse and George Custer In 1876, Lakota chief Cra

Read More View in Catalog

Snoozefest

Tanya Lloyd Kyi

An eye-opening look at the science of sleep — covering everything adolescents could possibly want to know about a subject that’s suddenly keeping them up at night! For something that all humans do every night, sleep is not that well understood. O

Read More View in Catalog

It Takes Guts

Dr. Jennifer Gardy

Winner of the 2023 AAAS/Subaru Prize for Excellence in Science Books An illustrated book about the digestive system and microbiome for young readers, from famous (and funny) scientist Dr. Jennifer Gardy. Everybody eats, and everybody poops. Pretty or

Read More View in Catalog

Top secret: spies, codes, capers, gadgets, and classified cases revealed

Crispin Boyer

"Information about intelligence gathering and spy agencies for children"–

View in Catalog

Hardcourt

Fred Bowen

"The story of the National Basketball Association from its origins through the major events and players who made basketball what it is today"–

View in Catalog

Need even more books to read? Check the shelves for this series we love!