I am looking for...

Going into 6th Grade Lists 2023


Printable List: Going Into 6th Grade 2023.PDF

In Honor of Broken Things

Paul Acampora

Three unlikely friends become partners in heartbreak and hope during a middle school pottery class in this powerful, poignant novel—perfect for fans of Gordon Korman and Lynda Mullaly Hunt. At West Beacon Middle School, eighth graders Oscar Villanu

Read More View in Catalog

The Curse on Spectacle Key

Chantel Acevedo

A sweetly spooky ghost story about a Cuban American boy who befriends a pair of spirits and tries to break the curse on his island home . . . only to discover a seemingly lost piece of his family’s history in the process. This new middle grade stan

Read More View in Catalog

Iveliz Explains It All

Andrea Beatriz Arango

NEWBERY HONOR AWARD WINNER • In this timely and moving novel in verse, a preteen girl navigates seventh grade while facing mental health challenges. A hopeful, poetic story about learning to advocate for the help and understanding you deserve. &quo

Read More View in Catalog

The Vanquishers

Kalynn Bayron

In the world of the Vanquishers, vampires were history . . . until now. "A sharp vampire tale full of bite, heart, and humor." –Rena Barron, author of the Maya and the Rising Dark series "Boog and her friends will capture your heart i

Read More View in Catalog

Dream, Annie, Dream

Waka T. Brown

In this empowering deconstruction of the so-called American Dream, a twelve-year-old Japanese American girl grapples with, and ultimately rises above, the racism and trials of middle school she experiences while chasing her dreams. As the daughter of

Read More View in Catalog

The Last Beekeeper

Pablo Cartaya

Facing a world dually altered by climate change and those who profit from it, Yolanda Cicerón will have to fight to save the last known beehive from extinction in this stirring new adventure by award-winning author Pablo Cartaya. In a future shaken

Read More View in Catalog

The Lock-Eater

Zack Loran Clark

"Will have readers tumbling through the pages . . . Deeply immersive, full of both heft and humor." —Soman Chainani, New York Times bestselling author of The School for Good and Evil series * "One of those special books that only com

Read More View in Catalog

The Marvellers

Dhonielle Clayton

The NEW YORK TIMES bestselling Middle Grade debut from Dhonielle Clayton. 'The Marvellers deserves the highest compliment I can give a book: I want to live in this world' – Rick Riordan, author of the Percy Jackson series Eleven-year-old El

Read More View in Catalog

A Perfect Mistake

Melanie Conklin

A moving, voice-driven novel about friendship, responsibility, and fighting against unfair expectations, for fans of Rebecca Stead and Erin Entrada Kelly. Max wishes he could go back in time to before he was diagnosed with ADHD, before he grew to be

Read More View in Catalog

The Pear Affair

Judith Eagle

Nell is determined to find her beloved missing au pair in this vibrant adventure set in, and underneath, Paris. Penelope Magnificent spends as little time as possible with her awful parents—a grocery-mogul father and a fashion-obsessed mother who l

Read More View in Catalog

High Score

Destiny Howell

Oceans 11 goes to the arcade in this wildly entertaining heist adventure that is perfect for fans of Gordon Korman, Varian Johnson, and Celia P rez. We do this my way. No one gets hurt. And if I call it off, it's off. Got it? My name's Dari

Read More View in Catalog

The List of Unspeakable Fears

J. Kasper Kramer

The War That Saved My Life meets Coraline in this “deliciously creepy” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) middle grade historical novel following an anxious young girl learning to face her fears—and her ghosts—against the backdrop of the typ

Read More View in Catalog

Chester Keene Cracks the Code

Kekla Magoon

Cracking the code isn’t all it’s cracked up to be in this scavenger-hunt adventure from a Coretta Scott King Honor–winning author. Chester Keene takes great comfort in his routines. After school Monday to Thursday is bowling, and Friday, the be

Read More View in Catalog

The Insiders

Mark Oshiro

A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year * An ALA Rainbow Book List Top 10 Title for Young Readers Three kids who don’t belong. A room that shouldn’t exist. A year that will change everything. Perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead and Meg Medina, th

Read More View in Catalog

Tumble

Celia C. Pérez

From the award-winning author of The First Rule of Punk and Strange Birds, a dazzling novel about a young girl who collects the missing pieces of her origin story from the family of legendary luchadores she’s never met. A 2023 Pura Belpré Author H

Read More View in Catalog

Ghosts Come Rising

Adam Perry

In the mid 19th century, a religious movement called Spiritualism spread across America. Spiritualists believe that the living could communicate with the dead. Complete with ghostly black-and-white photographs, this suspenseful book tells the story o

Read More View in Catalog

Pilar Ramirez and the Escape from Zafa

Julian Randall

The Land of Stories meets Dominican myths and legends come to life in Pilar Ramirez and the Escape from Zafa, a blockbuster contemporary middle-grade fantasy duology starter from Julian Randall. Fans of Tristan Strong and The Storm Runner, here is yo

Read More View in Catalog

Ellen Outside the Lines

A. J. Sass

Winner of a Sydney Taylor Book Award Honor! A heartfelt novel about a neurodivergent thirteen-year-old navigating changing friendships, a school trip, and expanding horizons for fans of Rain Reign and Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World. Thirteen

Read More View in Catalog

The In-Between

Katie Van Heidrich

For fans of Enchanted Air by Margarita Engle and Life in Motion by Misty Copeland, this middle grade memoir in verse with “stellar writing [and] perfect pacing” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) chronicles a young girl and her family who must star

Read More View in Catalog

Zachary Ying and the Dragon Emperor

Xiran Jay Zhao

Percy Jackson meets Tristan Strong in this hilarious middle grade “edge-of-your-seat adventure” (James Ponti, New York Times bestselling author of City Spies) that follows a young boy as he journeys across China to seal the underworld shut and sa

Read More View in Catalog

Speak Up!

Rebecca Burgess

For fans of Click and Brave, this touching coming-of-age middle grade graphic novel debut follows an autistic girl who finds friendship where she least expects it and learns to express her true self in a world where everyone defines her by her differ

Read More View in Catalog

Freestyle: A Graphic Novel

Gale Galligan

From New York Times bestselling author Gale Galligan, a fun, high-energy graphic novel about friendship, family, and the last hurrahs of middle school. Cory's dance crew is getting ready for a major competition. It's the last one before the

Read More View in Catalog

The Tryout: A Graphic Novel

Christina Soontornvat

STAND TALL. BE LOUD. GAME FACE ON. This pitch perfect graphic memoir about courage and competition, friendship and belonging is perfect for fans of Smile, New Kid, Rollergirl, and Real Friends. "A captivating middle-grade gem." – The New Yo

Read More View in Catalog

My Aunt Is a Monster

Reimena Yee

Curses! Adventures! And drama! Oh my! Safia might not be able to see the world, but that doesn’t mean she can’t experience it to the fullest as she finds herself on her very first adventure! This is a contemporary fantasy middle-grade graphic nov

Read More View in Catalog

Totally Random Facts Volume 1

Melina Gerosa Bellows

DID YOU KNOW? Dragonflies can see in all directions at once. Cats have a vocabulary of 14 words. And golf balls were originally made from—wait for it—cow’s eyeballs. Fantastic facts and incredible images come to life in this big, beautiful hard

Read More View in Catalog

Snot, Sneezes, and Super-Spreaders

​Marc ter Horst

Discover the extraordinary world of viruses, from their creation and transmission to what we can do to stop them, in this science-based resource for kids 8 to 12. If we didn’t know it before, we certainly know it now: Viruses can be powerful—so p

Read More View in Catalog

The Museum of Odd Body Leftovers

Rachel Poliquin

A perfect book for engaging kids in STEM: This illustrated tour of our “leftover” body parts (like the appendix, or even goosebumps) introduces readers age 7-11 to the bizarre and fascinating science of evolution. Welcome to the weirdest museum y

Read More View in Catalog

Agent Most Wanted

Sonia Purnell

A young readers adaptation of Sonia Purnell's New York Times bestselling book A Woman of No Importance, the story of Virginia Hall; the unassuming American spy who helped the allies win World War II. Virginia Hall was deemed "the most dange

Read More View in Catalog

Need even more books to read? Check the shelves for these authors we love!

Middle School Lists 2023


Summer Reading Recommendations List 2023


Bigelow Middle School (required reading)

Brown Middle School (required reading)

Day Middle School

Oak Hill Going into 7th Grade (required reading)

High School Lists 2023


Newton South High School 2023 Summer Reading Requirements